Down and Out in Paris and London – George Orwell

9780141184388

Blurb: This unusual fictional account – in good part autobiographical – narrates without self-pity and often with humor the adventures of a penniless British writer among the down-and-out of two great cities. The Parisian episode is fascinating for its expose of the kitchens of posh French restaurants, where the narrator works at the bottom of the culinary echelon as dishwasher, or plongeur. In London, while waiting for a job, he experiences the world of tramps, street people, and free lodging houses. In the tales of both cities we learn some sobering Orwellian truths about poverty and society.

★★

Favourite quote: I shall never again think that all tramps are drunken scoundrels,nor expect a beggar to be grateful when I give him a penny,nor subscribe to the Salvation Army,nor pawn my clothes,nor refuse a handbill, nor enjoy a meal at a smart restaurant.That is a beginning.

This book is often called the most underrated of Orwell’s works – and it so is! It’s a (somewhat emphasised) nonfiction account of his brief stint in poverty during the 1930s, first in Paris, and then in London (hence the title). With gutwrenching candour, he describes how he lives on pennies per week, often going without food for days, battling with 15 hour work days and bug infested beds. It’s very short, and reads more like an essay than a novel – and it needs not be any longer than it is, as you get the idea pretty quickly. I can’t believe that every detail is true to Orwell’s life – but even if 20% is true, then I feel pretty sorry for the guy. I felt hungry just reading this book, but his flowing prose and pretty accurate views on working in the catering industry helped me through.

I wouldn’t say that this book is ‘triggering’ for those that live in poverty, nor would I say that it’s an unbearable read due to its brutal honesty about living with nothing. This book was written a good 90 years ago, and I’d like to think the social welfare programs of both the UK and France provide a less vomit inducing backdrop to poverty. Orwell colours this book with so many different personalities and characters that its a thoroughly enjoyable read – although I would say it’s helpful to have a nice bubble bath to go sit in after you read it.

 

3 thoughts on “Down and Out in Paris and London – George Orwell

  1. thenovelprojectchronicles says:

    Nice Review.

    Orwell is one of those authors who I read a lot of in my teens and promise myself that I will go back to. Orwell was a master of literature as social justice commentary and this book probably has much to teach us today with more and more ppl falling into the poverty trap.

    • Phoebe says:

      Thanks so much! I’m the same, I read 1984 and Animal farm in my early teens and I think I’d get a lot more out of them if I reread them – and I also agree with you about modern poverty, especially in London where I live it’s becoming quite common to hear about circumstances just like the ones Orwell writes about, which is sad.

Leave a Reply

